Curated–The yoga pants witch hunt: missing pieces of the modesty conversation

Here is a rather insightful and poignant post on modesty. While I cautiously won’t jump on board with everything written here, it is worth a “listen” for the purpose of the whole modesty discussion. I will say that the the third point is golden (“Modesty culture shows a routine disrespect for men”) and something I haven’t really taken into much consideration–and I agree with that point 100%

Click “view original” to see the full article.

Hannah Schaefer

DeathtoStock_NotStock5

It’s getting to be that time of year again. You know, the one with all the articles about women’s modesty and how we should be dressing to prevent men from sinning, and are bikinis really okay?

I have waited several years to write about modesty, because I know it’s a hot topic and people tend to feel very strongly that their way is the right way. And you know what? You’re entitled to your opinion. Whether you rock a floor-length denim skirt or short-shorts, rock on my friend.

But there’s 3 things I keep missing in our conversations, on both sides, that I’d like to talk about.

1) Modesty culture has no boundaries.

Reading and listening to conversations about how someone else’s sin is my fault gives me anxiety like you wouldn’t believe. Why? Because there is no male responsibility in modesty culture. There is very little accountability for the way a man chooses…

View original post 661 more words

Leave a Reply

