There is Enough Time, Because There is Enough Grace

tEREUy1vSfuSu8LzTop3_IMG_2538It may be January 2015, but in my mind it feels as if it should be about August 2014 right now. And . . . this has led me to some pondering (a word that sounds much more intellectual than what it really means, I do think). And so as I ponder, and as I wonder, perhaps even wander, here is what comes to mind:

1. I worry too much about time. Time often seems like a dangerous threat ready to eat me and spit me out much older and full of regret. For instance, I often (over)think about how much I want to accomplish and then I discouragingly realize I’m not getting any younger . . . Then I look back, and think “No, look at what you have done . . .” and then my thinking turns into a selfish cycle. I start thinking about my accomplishments (which really aren’t all that impressive) and then I start playing the comparison game, which leads me to feeling awful again–because “I haven’t accomplished what so-and-so has accomplished.” or “why am I not married yet?” or “how long do I have to wait for _____?” And what is all of this questioning and worrying? A waste of time. It’s a battle, but a battle with a trump card, or better yet, a promise–and it’s found in 1 Peter chapter 5 and verse 7.  Whether the time in the present is too much to bear, or too little in which to get things done, too fast, or too slow–It is imperative that I must have faith in God’s personal, loving and attending care of me.

“Faith is the refusal to panic.” ~ Martin Lloyd Jones

2. Time is relative. I’m not going to get into the scientific weeds here because, frankly, if I try–we won’t come out alive on the other side (unlike Matthew McConaughey). But let me ask, why does a single minute in the midst of a CrossFit workout feel sooo much longer than my 10 minute snooze in the morning? Sometimes I do wonder how (or even if) such questions legitimately factor into interpretations of 2 Peter 3:8.  I will say this: God owns time, He gives grace, He’s extremely personal with us–patient too . . . and sometimes, I do believe He bends the duration of time for us a little, maybe a lot . . . He does so out of love, out of mercy, and sometimes, we might even notice. Whatever time I might have left, whatever form of duration it will undertake, it is absolutely enough for Him–and that should be satisfaction enough.

“Indeed, in your sight a thousand years are like a single day,
    like yesterday—already past—
    like an hour in the night” Psalm 90:4

3. Time is precious. Perhaps this conclusion is obvious. As I’ve already mentioned, time belongs to God. It is a gift to me–sometimes a tool to use, sometimes a trial to endure for my good, and at other times, a pleasure to be relished.  And whether time is moving fast or slow, it is moving according to His perfect will. And Time, like Grace, will never run out, for like its very Creator, it remains infinite and eternal.

“There is not a square inch [or second] in the whole domain of our human existence over which Christ, who is Sovereign over all, does not cry, Mine!”  ~ Abraham Kuyper

Leave a Reply

