Daphne Oz’s National Best Seller: The Dorm Room Diet

Book description: Figuring out how to eat right and stay healthy on your own can be hard! Here is help from someone who’s been there. Like many girls, Daphne Oz struggled with her weight as a teenager and hated the extreme restrictions of fad diets. She wanted to find a healthy lifestyle solution that would let her enjoy a full college experience without packing on the proverbial Freshman 15. But could it be done?” (as found at the book’s site)

Yes. It can be–as proven by Daphne Oz herself.  I picked up this book from B&N this past week. It was my Dad who actually came across it somewhere . . . on Amazon? Not exactly sure; and it was Mom who let me know about it. My parents know I love to read–especially nonfiction–especially national best sellers–and especially national best sellers that are right down my alley. Yep–as a female college student, living in the dorm, interested in healthful/healthy living–this book had my name written all over it.

Now, no. I’m not a freshman this year (I’ll actually be a senior), but I am the next best thing: I’m an RA. And you know what that means don’t you? Yep. I’ll now have, thanks to this book, the healthiest hall of girls on campus . . . well maybe not quite. But you can be sure I’m going to make this book readily available to my hall (a schnazzy hall library of . . . 1; well, I may add others). And why not?

Here’s why I like it:

1. It’s pink (elaboration not needed).

2. It’s written by someone who’s “been there done that”–the whole college diet/exercise/discipline struggle “thing”.

3. It’s researched. No fad diet here. In fact, the healthy lifestyle advocated in this book should take one far outside the dorm room and outside of college.

4. It’s full of random facts and tidbits well worth remembering. I mean, I didn’t know that green tea was a hunger suppressant–and I love green tea. Now I know what to do when I’m hungry.

5. It’s actually fun to read. I didn’t feel as if I were reading some science health manual; it was conversational. Yep, conversational reading, if there even is such a thing.

6. It’s incredibly motivational. Diets are usually discouraging and often seem impossible and not even worth the effort. This one, though never claiming to be easy, certainly capitalizes on how possible it is; it’s actually encouraging.

7. It not only tells you what to do–but how to do it. It also provides the encouragement you need when you get off track. Guidelines are a good thing.

8. Personal testimonials/stories throughout. I already mentioned the author–but she’s not the only one. Meet others throughout the book that share the same diet/motivational/exercise struggles as you. It’s good to know you’re not alone.

9. The “Dorm Room Diet Tip[s]”–you’ll find them in the light pink boxes throughout the book. Those alone are worth the cover price and just the application of those will get you well on your way to a healthier you.

10. Easy recipes for the dorm room. Yep they’re there and they’re easy (although, I’ll admit to not having tried any–yet).

Things you can expect to find in the book:

–An easy to follow 10-step program

–The “5 Danger Zones” and how to avoid/ “surive” them

–Exercises that can be easily executed in your very small dorm room

–Information about choosing the right vitamins, nutrients, food groups, and advice on calorie intake . . . etc.

–Easy recipes . . . but I’ve already mentioned that

You can already assume I highly recommend this book. I do. I only have one disclaimer: it’s not a Christian book. Oz does mention the benefits of having a religious faith–but she includes all faiths. Her point is that we are happier when we live and believe in something outside of ourselves. This is true. But only a faith in Jesus Christ can bring true and long-lasting (which is forever) happiness.

For additional information visit: dormroomdiet.com

Leave a Reply

