Do Not Be Anxious About Your Life

“Therefore I tell you, do not be anxious about your life, what you will eat or what you will drink, nor about your body, what you will put on. Is not life more than food, and the body more than clothing? Look at the birds of the air: they neither sow nor reap nor gather into barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not of more value than they? And which of you by being anxious can add a single hour to his span of life? And why are you anxious about clothing? Consider the lilies of the field, how they grow: they neither toil nor spin, yet I tell you, even Solomon in all his glory was not arrayed like one of these. But if God so clothes the grass of the field, which today is alive and tomorrow is thrown into the oven, will he not much more clothe you, O you of little faith? Therefore do not be anxious, saying, ‘What shall we eat?’ or ‘What shall we drink?’ or ‘What shall we wear?’ For the Gentiles seek after all these things, and your heavenly Father knows that you need them all. But seek first the kingdom of God and his righteousness, and all these things will be added to you.

“Therefore do not be anxious about tomorrow, for tomorrow will be anxious for itself. Sufficient for the day is its own trouble.

This is such a rich, yet familiar text found at the tail end of Matthew 6–smack in the middle of the great Sermon on the Mount.  The text itself brings back so many memories from Wednesday night kid’s club memory verses to children’s church songs from back in the day.  It’s so powerful–and yet so simple for even the comprehension of a child.

Recently, my mind has been drawn back to this passage.  I am beginning to realize that God’s will for me is not something that I have to be anxious about finding in the middle of chaotic options.  Rather, God’s will is about seeking His Kingdom and His righteousness. In other words, it is God’s divine will and desire for me that I keep as my primary objective to remain pure and righteous before Him, rather than to distract myself with worries over the external “conventional” matters of my life.  Yes, even those large inevitable decisions about what lies ahead are still not to take priority over my pursuit for God’s kingdom and righteousness.

I love how the passage seems to humorously reproach worry as though I believe it could add more time to solving our problems.  God is very clear that I am to pursue the eternal matters involving my sanctification and relationship with Him over the fleeting worries of the future. I find it to be so true that when I worry about what may lie ahead in the future and I get anxious about trying to figure out God’s plans for me, I easily forget that true and ever present pursuit of righteousness which truly is God’s plan.  It is so wonderful to know, and such a great comfort to realize–even over and over again–that God’s will for me is not some mystery that I might be lucky to find one day–waiting for me to obey it, but an ever present sanctification that He has a sovereign control over that is bringing me to Christlikeness as I seek after His righteousness.

It truly is amazing to reflect upon the fact that I need not hesitate or worry over my decisions as long as I am seeking after what He has commanded.  Regardless of what decision may come about–if I am steadily seeking for that which He has commanded, I can know for sure I am right where I am going to be growing as God would have me.  And the truth is that even if I am not seeking after righteousness as I am commanded, I can know for sure that my gracious heavenly Father will not fail to chasten and bring me back to where I need to be in my pursuit. What a wonderful God I have.  I truly have no need to be anxious for anything.

Leave a Reply

